Bulb Galore

“Baby you light up my world like nobody else”

With today’s world and our reliance on aesthetics, one of the most important features of a home is its lighting. The usual factor is the design or perhaps the color of the bulb. But have you ever wondered what are the consequential carbon footprints  of your decision? Today, we widely use the Compact Fluorescent Lightbulbs (CFL) or the Light Emitting Diode (LED) and not so common anymore–the incandescent bulb. Though still existing, the incandescent bulb has definitely lost its charm with regards to the two due to its inefficiency and costs . What then is the difference of these three bulbs?

Based on these information, let me give you a peek on what type of bulbs I have at home.

IMG-20130714-00021

For my study table, I make use of a fluorescent bulb. I use fluorescent because the light is brighter and clearer. It seems more smooth and relaxed rather than the LED lights we have at home. It is perfect for studying because it doesn’t strain your eyes the way an LED light would. Though there are negative factors like it would heat up easily and you can really feel the heat emanating from the lamp, I think it still delivers best with regards to light quality–something necessary for me when reading small texts.IMG-20130714-00020

For my bedroom, I use a circular fluorescent lamp. If you haven’t noticed, I took off the covering of the light, leaving the bulb exposed. Before it used to have a slightly opaque bowl cover that would save me of looking directly at its evident glare because of my low ceiling. Eventually, I felt that the protective casing was actually a hindrance rather than a solution for it made my room significantly darker and defeated the purpose of having a big bulb. (Do consider this tip at home, you might be wasting electricity by opening multiple lights in one room whereas the problem could just be that you have a dirty or too frosted bulb cover. Slight changes like these could save you money and lessen your carbon footprint!)IMG-20130714-00019

This is the LED light that I use for my bathroom. I don’t think I’ve changed it in 3 years and it still seems to be in the condition I bought it in. Just like all LEDs, the light brightness is significantly lesser than the Fluorescent bulb and it’s hard to do things that require good lighting such as make-up. Other than that, it’s do-able to still brush your teeth, wash your face and etc.. Though it has saved me money , it still makes me think if the poor lighting was actually worth the cheap cost. Nonetheless, I won’t be changing this until it dies out.

So there you have it! do try to reassess the bulbs you use at home. You might be using incandescent lights that take a toll on your budget. Do consider the many factors that come with this. In my opinion, fluorescent bulbs provide the best light but they contain mercury (toxic) and generate heat which could be uncomfortable for some. LEDs are the way to go for today’s modern environment supporter. Note that not all LEDs are dim like the one I have. Remember that the more small bulbs the LED contains, the brighter it is. Some LED lamps are even so customizable that you may adjust the brightness through a sensor, how savvy! Buy smart and save the earth!

Leave a comment